Largo House

LargoHouse

… so sad to see this lovely old mansion in ruins …

LargoHouse1542

… especially with its history and connection to
the First Independent Polish Parachute Brigade …

LargoHouse_cu_1558

… however someone has put up a small plaque …

LargoHouse1564

… and a new memorial 
will be going up in Leven in September
to mark the 70th anniversary of their jump into Arnhem …

~ by marysia on 14 March 2014.

8 Responses to “Largo House”

  1. Must pay a visit here at some point. It looks well abandoned.

  2. Yes it’s a great place although surrounded by barbed wire so be careful if you do go. The roof was removed some years ago and so it really is in a terrible state.

  3. Marysia I live in Brick cottage next to largo house.The cottage used to be the chauffeurs accommodation for the mansion residents.
    My grandfather was Rudolph Gregory Kryszczuk.I have lived here for 4 years after moving from Elie where my grandfather raised his family after the war.
    Rudi as he was known was a paratrooper in the 1st independent polish paratrooper brigade and saw action in Arnhem.He died in 1986 however I remember the 40year anniversary held at shellbay in 1984 which I attended with my father Michael Kryszczuk .
    My name is also Michael and I have always been drawn to.Elie,Shellbay and now by chance I live next door to.where the paras trained.
    Very proud of what these guys did.

    • Thanks for your comment and good to hear about your grandfather. Did he by chance marry one of three sisters? If so, I think I might have a photo. It would be good to meet up as I’m putting together another exhibition.
      Also, there’s to be a new memorial unveiled in Leven in September in memory of the paratroopers for the
      70th anniversary of Arnhem.

      • My grandfather married Mary Ednie( who only had a brother) and had two children Anna and Michael.Have you come across.his name before?if you could email the picture I could verify.
        I believe I have already seen a picture of him on your site. He is sitting in full paratrooper uniform on an aircraft waiting to jump.

    • Did your father take any photos of Largo House? The interior especially.

  4. Please keep me “in the loop” on any photos and info on Largo House. I went there today to see where my polish grandfather also trained…

Leave a Reply

 
