NYC

Today I’ve been sorting through some images that I took in New York earlier this year.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

I’d never been to New York so jumped at the chance to go and stay in Manhattan with a friend in a rather luxurious apartment on the 9th floor of a 40 storey building with gorgeous cheeky chappies in the lobby and the most amazing views from the roof terrace. A glass of wine at sunset up there was enough to suggest that yes I could perhaps love NY as everyone had suggested I would. It wasn’t the city I imagined. It was cleaner, friendlier, slower, wider, taller … and I loved the fact that you were never far from the water where the air seemed fresh and clean. I love to people watch and NY is a great place to do it; and I love to cab and could afford it in NY. Perfect place.

It all seemed very familiar and then I realised just how much American tv I watch and how many films I have seen that are set in NY. How excited was I when we actually saw Law and Order Special Victims Unit being filmed. Sadly I never saw smoke rising out of the ground but you can’t have everything.

It was a beautiful, sunny Sunday afternoon when we stepped out of the subway and wandered down to the water by Brooklyn Bridge. We sat and watched the world and ate ice creams. The bridge is the most magnificent piece of engineering. Walking back across it to Manhattan was one of things I enjoyed most during my stay. One of the others was searching for the best cupcake and obviously having to taste many cupcakes … the search continues …

~ by marysia on 13 November 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
