In search of new bench

I’ve really been missing my bench in Newburgh so I decided to find a new one …

… I headed up to Blythe Hill and sat on my favourite bench there …

… it has fabulous views across London …

… then I carried on to Ladywell Fields which is being refurbished
(it’s not a house, silly, but can’t think of the word) …

… they’ve built an adventure playground with vegetables (not literally)
which is a new concept for me and as it’s all behind bars
I’m not sure who grows or eats them …

… they’ve already re-routed some of the Quaggy or possibly Ravensbourne River
so it now meanders through the fields … and it looks great … one way …

… but not so great the other …
… they do regular clean ups so maybe I’ll join in next time …

… I found lots of benches …
… one or two so low I knew I’d never get up again …

… and nice ones surrounded by roses  … and if overcome by heat stroke
(another reason I want to go back north – too flippin’ hot in London) …

… they’re right by Lewisham Hospital …

.. it was so hot I had to have a lolly … thank goodness there is now a cafe in the park …

… and though sweaty, I was impressed I didn’t puff as I walked back home over the railway bridge which only goes to show that all that walking in Fife has done me good …

… I passed the remains of Catford Dog track … soon to be a million “affordable” flats …

… to my favourite place on my balcony watching my garden grow whilst listening to the hum of the south circular, the chattering of the magpies and the squawking of the green parakeets … over a chilled glass of wine, or course …

~ by marysia on 8 August 2010.

One Response to “In search of new bench”

  1. I see you’ve retained the bloging bug. Fixating on benches instead of kilted men. It takes all sorts.

Leave a Reply

 
