Dunkeld

Tricia Anderson, a dancer based in Newburgh, has asked me to collaborate with her on an art project. We’re still thinking about what it might be in the end but meanwhile are planning to submit a piece for the Perthshire Visual Arts Forum open show at the beginning of June. Nothing like a deadline to get me motivated! Artists are asked to respond to a narrative. Tricia and I have chosen this:

The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I marked the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost

While I’m here in Scotland I’m thinking about my path and where my practice is going so when Tricia suggested this poem, I thought it appropriate. We headed up to Dunkeld and Birnham Woods to walk in the beautiful countryside and be inspired.

These are the some of the results of our shoot that I’m now working on. The poem will appear alongside the submission so I think I prefer the ones where the words are not too visible. Maybe too many words. Maybe not enough. And I do like a triptych. Let me know what you think.

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

~ by marysia on 27 May 2010.

2 Responses to “Dunkeld”

  1. Bit small to see what the intention is (can’t read the words at the mo) I feel a bit uncomfortable with the way the triptic is laid out, not sure about the full bleed in centre – it sort of pulls you out of the images too much. On the whole though, I’m drawn to the mood. I’m drawn to number 4. I love the way the typography and image work together with movement. Perhaps slightly less movement on Tricia, so that you can just about get that she is a dancer?? Dunno. Yep I do like number 4 rather than teh triptic

  2. Thanks. Yes bit small on the page to see clearly. The text is the last 3 lines of the poem but may not use all of it. I’ve got others where you see more of Tricia but the poses weren’t right somehow. I’ll go back and look at them again.

Leave a Reply

 
