Life Drawing 2

My second class last night. A male model. Bruce showed us how to look for negative spaces and I discovered charcoal. Loved doing it this way. For those, like me, who have never done this before the method is: cover the paper in smudgey grey charcoal to create your mid-tones, then take a putty rubber and rub the charcoal out to create your highlights, add a few lines and shadow. Bruce makes it look easy but it ain’t and you have to really¬†concentrate. I really liked this as a technique as I could see the shapes and found it easier to re-create them. I was happy with my result except for the shrunken head. To me, unfortunately, it looks nothing like the model although the pose is there.

I really admire Bruce’s talent. You can see examples of his work here:

http://www.queensgallery.co.uk/Bruce%20Shaw%202010.html

And him in his studio here at The Steeple on Peter’s blog (Peter is a photographer who also has a studio here):

http://north-fife.blogspot.com/2009/10/bruce-shaw-steeple-arts-north-fife.html

~ by marysia on 20 May 2010.

One Response to “Life Drawing 2”

  1. I thought it was a sketch from Picasso’s Blue Period!

Leave a Reply

 
