LOMO PHOTOGRAPHY

I’ve known about the cult that is LOMO for a long time and never quite understood it. But I was given a very bright pink Lomo fisheye camera for Christmas. I never used it until I came here. And it is brilliant. Firstly, I love the fact that Lomos use film. And secondly, I love the fact that it is so basic – plastic, even the lens – and so easy to use. Just point and shoot as many people do with a digital camera but the results are astonishing, much more interesting than digital. I’ve recently made and been working with pinholes in a school in London and the results are similar.

I plan to do a whole series of FISHeye photos of the once FISHing villages in the East Neuk of Fife.  There are about eleven villages, once described by King James II (I think) as “a fringe of gold on a beggar’s mantle” – all picturesque but catering to tourism more than the fishing industry now. As a kid I remember the harbours full of fishing boats and popping down to the fish market in Pittenweem to watch the boats unload, listen to the auction not understanding a word, then heading home to my gran’s house with fresh fish given to me by one of the fishermen. Pittenweem is still a working harbour but the lovely shore front homes are now mainly holiday lets and second homes rather than fishermen’s homes.

My first attempt with my lomo was hugely rewarding. Pittenweem suddenly looked like I remembered it as a kid. Maybe because I shot in black/white but the photos seem somehow timeless. The quality is amazing. And the fisheye takes in so much.

See for yourselves and tell me what you think.

~ by marysia on 14 May 2010.

3 Responses to “LOMO PHOTOGRAPHY”

  1. I love the way the sea bulges in the second from last picture. At first I thought it was part of a boat or a car bonnet. Looking forward to seeing more!

  2. Lovely, so glad the Fisheye is a hit. You must look wonderful out and about with that lovely pink camera, knew it was you. I want a photo of you outdoors with the camera, pls. Sent film supplies up yesterday. Shout if you need food supplies too! 😉 Nx

  3. OK. The sun is shining so I’ll be out along the braes with my pink lomo and mum’s old brownie today so I’ll try to get a photo for you. I’m so high tech these days!

Leave a Reply

 
